The Writing on the Wall

DOUGHBOYS

The Writing on the Wall

Post by DOUGHBOYS » Fri Sep 16, 2016 9:52 am

Maybe I am too 'Old School'. Or maybe I am just too plain old. I don't know.
This is the first year since the 80's that I have thought about not playing fantasy baseball in the coming year.
Oh, I am playing. No doubt about that. We already have the PreMature E-Draftulation League ready to go.
But still, I thought about it.
I thought about it.
I've never done that before.

I love baseball. According to my parents, it's been a part of my life since my first word
My first word was not 'Mom' or 'Dad'. It was "Ball"
My life has revolved around the sport. When I wasn't playing baseball, I was home listening to it.
Willie Mays, Willie Mcovey, Sandy Koufax, Maury Wills, Don Drysdale.
I knew every one of their characteristics. Better than my own brothers and sisters.
In first grade, I received a report card that stated my math skills far exceeded kids in my class.
I am not smart. Nor was I smarter than the other kids in that class. I knew I just had to figure out batting averages and ERA's.
It was driven by baseball.
In second grade, my teachers recognized this and I was sent home with a different report card.
Under 'Comments' was the statement....
"Danny suffers from a bad case of Baseballitis"

I never got over baseballitis. I played and followed baseball through Little League, High School, and College.
Then played in National and World tournaments in softball leagues. All the while, following baseball at the Major League level.
Fantasy baseball started in the 80's. This coincided with working at the local softball parks and scorekeeping professionally.
My family knows of my baseballitis and they've been very caring and loving about letting baseball be first sometimes in my life.
They're so wonderful that they're trying to push me to see the Hall of Fame.
Too nice.